Send Secret Messages on Your iPhone Using the Notes App. Here’s How

The Notes app on your iPhone is helpful for jotting down an intensive grocery record or holding an in depth log of your hire, utilities and other important bills, however that is not all it is able to. These similar notes may also be used to have a secret dialog together with your family and friends.

The collaboration characteristic in Notes permits a number of folks to learn and edit a single be aware in real-time, which means that anybody in the be aware may in apply have a dialog with one another. All they would want to do is write one thing down, such as you would through textual content, after which the different particular person would reply.

But why use Notes for this, and never simply use Messages? Especially while you’ll quickly have the ability to edit and unsend texts?

Unlike with textual content messages, any dialog in a be aware might be “self-destructing” with a little bit of intervention, a la Snapchat. After you write a message, the different particular person can delete it and ship their response, which you’ll be able to then delete and exchange together with your response, and so on and so forth. You may have an extremely lengthy dialog — with none proof that it ever befell.

Read MoreApple Notes: How to Set Up Passwords for Extra Privacy

If you wish to learn to flip a be aware into a spot for hidden conversations on iOS, this is what you might want to know.

Create a be aware

On your iPhone, launch the Notes app and faucet the Compose button on the backside proper to create a brand new be aware. Next, sort something into the be aware to maintain it, or else it’s going to mechanically be deleted while you exit from the be aware. You may also simply go into an present be aware, nevertheless it’s higher to start out contemporary with a brand new one.

Notes app on iPhone

First, create a brand new be aware or go into an present one.


Nelson Aguilar/CNET

Edit the be aware’s share choices

Once your be aware is up and able to go, you’ll be able to start the strategy of including one other particular person as collaborator, which implies they’ll learn and edit no matter is in the be aware. To begin, faucet the More button on the high proper, after which hit Share Note.

Now faucet Share Options and ensure the Can make modifications possibility is chosen beneath Permission. You must also toggle off Anyone can add folks in case you wish to be the solely one that can add collaborators to your be aware. Go again to the final web page while you’re completed configuring these settings.

Notes app on iPhone

Second, handle what your collaborators can do.


Nelson Aguilar/CNET

Add a collaborator and share the hyperlink

Next, select a technique to share the be aware: You can ship it through textual content message, e mail, social media and extra. If you swipe on the share choices, it’s also possible to choose Copy Link, which copies the be aware hyperlink to your clipboard and means that you can paste it wherever you need. 

For this instance, I’ll select the Copy Link choice to share the be aware.

At the high of the Copy Link web page, enter the e mail deal with or telephone variety of the particular person you wish to entry the be aware. You may also faucet the Add icon to look by way of your contacts. Adding a contact to the be aware is required — should you share the hyperlink with out including a contact, the different particular person will not have the ability to see or edit the be aware, even with the hyperlink.

Lastly, hit Copy Link to repeat the be aware hyperlink to your clipboard and share it together with your collaborator.

Notes app on iPhone

Next, add your collaborator(s).


Nelson Aguilar/CNET

Communicate secretly through Notes

The different particular person, on the receiving finish, should now open the be aware hyperlink and settle for the invitation. If they settle for, they will be redirected to the Notes app and to the collaborative be aware you simply created.

To talk, merely sort one thing into the be aware, which the different particular person will have the ability to see in real-time, with out you having to hit ship. They’ll additionally obtain a notification anytime the be aware is altered. 

Each particular person in the be aware can have a corresponding colour seem (just for a second) so that everybody else is aware of who typed what. You may also swipe proper from the center of the be aware to see the identify of who wrote the message, in addition to a timestamp for when the message was written and any corresponding colours. 

Notes app on iPhone

Now you’ll be able to secretly talk with your folks or household.


Nelson Aguilar/CNET

You may also faucet the Share Note button (with the checkmark icon), go to Manage Shared Note after which toggle on Highlight All Changes. That approach, all messages will keep completely highlighted of their corresponding colour, making it simpler to learn the dialog.

And if you wish to preserve your communications extra low-key, delete your message or the different particular person’s message to strike it from the be aware. That approach your dialog is extra like it could be on Snapchat, with ephemeral or short-lived messages that outsiders cannot see in the event that they snoop by way of your notes. You can do that with any textual content in the notes, in addition to images, movies, hyperlinks, drawings or every other attachments you add to the be aware.

Permanently delete your secret dialog

Not all secret conversations can go on without end, and so it is time now to finish it. 

If you are the proprietor of the be aware, and wish to preserve the be aware intact for everybody however stop them from enhancing it, you’ll be able to simply achieve this. On the high proper, faucet the View Participants button after which hit Manage Shared Note. To take away a participant, you’ll be able to both swipe left on their identify after which hit Remove or you’ll be able to faucet on their identify after which faucet Remove Access.

Notes app on iPhone

To finish the notes dialog, take away any collaborators or cease sharing the be aware.


Nelson Aguilar/CNET

Additionally, you’ll be able to faucet the Stop Sharing possibility, which is not going to solely take away individuals from the be aware, but additionally delete the be aware from all of their units.

If you are not the proprietor of the be aware, you’ll be able to simply delete the be aware from the Notes software.

Image Credit

Leave a Comment